STATE OF RHODE ISLAND AND PROVIDENCE PLANTATIONS
Department of Children, Youth and Families

Child Care Licensing Unit; 4" Floor

101 Friendship Street

Providence, RI 02903

March 11, 2016

Dear Program Administrators,

This letter serves as information regarding the DCYF License Renewal Process. We are excited to announce that
we are launching the Universal Program Application (UPA), an efficient online application process, which has
been developed with the Exceed partners.

In the last year, you have received information regarding Rhode Island’s Early Care and Education Data System
(ECEDS). In this system, you can review and update your program information, then print and mail your
application for licensing renewal. You will also have the opportunity, if necessary, to access a hard copy of the
application (see below). All License Renewal Applications are due to DCYF by May 31, 2016.

In the near future, the UPA will also be used for BrightStars Quality Rating applications and RIDE Comprehensive
Early Childhood Education (CECE) Approval. This will significantly reduce duplication, and streamline
applications for different state agencies.

To complete your DCYF License Renewal:
* Loginto ECEDS (see directions attached)
* Review your information
¢ Update your Program Data
*  Print the application summary
* Mail to DCYF with payment and all required materials. *Incomplete applications will not be accepted.

If you do not have the ability to complete and print the application, you may request a hardcopy of the
application via email to Annette Gentile: annette.gentile@dcyf.ri.gov no later than Friday, April 15, 2016.

If you have any anticipated changes to your program (such as a change in program contact information,
Administrator or Education Coordinator, etc.) or questions about the renewal process, please contact your
assigned Licensing Specialist. DCYF and the Exceed partners are excited to make this important advancement in
our system. Thank you for your anticipated support and cooperation.

Sincerely,

Kevin W. Savage
Licensing Administrator



Frequently Asked Questions

Who should my payment be made out to?
A $500 fee should be made out to: State of Rhode Island General Treasurer

When is my application due?
May 31, 2016

Where should | mail my application?
Child Care Licensing Unit
Department of Children, Youth and Families; 4" floor
101 Friendship Street
Providence, RI 02903

What should | submit with my application?
O Universal Program Application (a summary to print is generated online)
O $500 fee
O Valid required inspections:
o Asbestos Inspection
Lead Inspection
Fire Inspection
Radon Inspection
Water Potability (if applicable)

O O O O

How can | get into my ECEDS Program Portal?

The directions to register for and log into ECEDS are attached to this letter. The websites are as follows:
O Exceed; Rhode Island’s Early Childhood Commitment: https://exceed.ri.gov
O ECEDS Helpdesk website: https://support.exceed.ri.gov

Can | submit my application electronically?
No, a hard copy must be mailed in. In the future, the UPA plans to add functionality for the applications to
be fully submitted and reviewed online.

What is the benefit of using ECEDS to complete my application?
The Universal Program Application benefits providers by collecting and storing data required by regulatory
agencies and reducing duplication of data collection. Once you complete a full program profile, all you have
to do is review and/or update this information to renew your DCYF license, apply for a BrightStars Rating or
apply for CECE approval.

The system states | need credentials when I try to register. How do | get credentials?
In order to link program information to your personal account, we have emailed all Program Administrators
credentials to register in the Early Care and Education Data System. If you did not receive credentials or
need to have them resent, please visit the Helpdesk and open a ticket. (https://support.exceed.ri.gov/).

| forgot my username or password. Who do | contact?
You can request an e-mail with a username reminder, as well as re-set your password directly from the long
in page (https://exceed.ri.gov/ExceedMVC/Home/Login). If you need additional support feel free to contact
the Helpdesk (https://support.exceed.ri.gov/).

The information on our Program Portal is not correct. Who do | contact?
If you are the administrator of a DCYF licensed child care program and cannot update information because
the section is “greyed out”, please contact your DCYF Licensing Specialist to request the information be
updated. You may contact your Licensing Specialist directly or open a Helpdesk ticket to initiate the change
(https://support.exceed.ri.gov/tickets/new?locale=en).



